U2 are an Irish rock band from Dublin. Formed in 1976, the group consists of
Bono (vocals and guitar), The Edge (guitar, keyboards and vocals), Adam
Clayton (bass guitar), and Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums and percussion). U2's
early sound was rooted in post-punk but eventually grew to incorporate
Influences from many genres of popular music.