The Monkees are an American–British pop group that released music under their
original incarnation between 1966 and 1970, with subsequent reunion albums and
tours in the decades that followed. Assembled in Los Angeles in 1965 by Robert "Bob"
Rafelson and Bert Schneider for the American television series The Monkees, which
aired from 1966–1968, the musical acting quartet was composed of Americans Micky
Dolenz, Michael Nesmith, and Peter Tork, and Englishman Davy Jones. The band's
music was initially supervised by producer Don Kirshner.

For the first few months of their almost five-year initial career, the four actor
musicians were allowed only limited roles in the recording studio. This was due in
part to the excessive time spent filming the television series, which in turn limited the
amount of time available to the group to rehearse and coalesce as a band.
Nonetheless, Nesmith did compose and produce some songs from the beginning, and
Peter Tork contributed limited guitar work on the Nesmith-produced sessions. They
soon fought for and earned the right to collectively supervise all musical output
under the band's name.