Joy Division were an English rock band formed in 1976 in Salford, Greater Manchester.
Originally named Warsaw, the band primarily consisted of Ian Curtis (vocals and
occasional guitar), Bernard Sumner (guitar and keyboards), Peter Hook (bass guitar
and backing vocals) and Stephen Morris (drums and percussion).

Joy Division rapidly evolved from their initial punk rock influences to develop a
sound and style that pioneered the post-punk movement of the late 1970s. Their
self-released 1978 debut EP, An Ideal for Living, drew the attention of the Manchester
television personality Tony Wilson. Joy Division's debut album, Unknown Pleasures,
was released in 1979 on Wilson's independent record label, Factory Records, and
drew critical acclaim from the British press.

On the eve of the band's first American tour in May 1980, Curtis committed suicide.
Joy Division's posthumously released second album, Closer (1980), and the single
"Love Will Tear Us Apart" became the band's highest charting releases. After the
death of Curtis, the remaining members continued as New Order, achieving critical
and commercial success.